End of a semi-arduous journey

dsc_0110

Hooray!! After four years of hardships and struggles, finally I managed to graduate with first class honor in Mechanical Engineering – Aeronautics.

Who said that earning first class honor is easy and it is only for someone who is smart or with high IQ?

If you ever think so, then you are definitely wrong! Everybody has the chance to get whatever grade they wished for, as long as they have the willingness to go through every obstacle in order to achieve their own target.

The reason for me to choose this course is due to the strict requirements in order to enroll into this course; that is 4.00 out of 4.00 Cumulative Grade Point Average (CGPA) for matriculation or other equivalent studies (during that time). Some of my schoolmates told me that Aeronautics Engineering was the toughest course in Malaysia. After hearing that, I was like ‘Okay, let’s do this and see how hard it can be’. By the time, getting a 4 flat does not included in my wishlist as I does not even manage to get straight A’s  in my Sijil Pelajaran Malaysia (SPM).

A year passed by and I successfully enrolled in that course and gone through my first semester without any problem. The subjects taken during first semester were only the basic subjects which I managed to do well.

But when it comes to my second semester, there were quite a number of engineering subjects. Guess what? This caused my result to be dragged all the way down until I receive a warning letter from my sponsorship as I didn’t managed to score well. My total grade had dropped from first class to nearly second lower class. Things getting worse when my dad ask me either change to other course available or withdraw myself from the university and go into other more technical institution.

By that time I think that everything is done for me and there is no more hope on finishing my degree in Aeronautic Engineering course. But after few thoughts, I decided to just continue with this course as I already spend one year with it. Luckily, there was someone who is willing to help me out and also motivates me to try harder and prove that I can do this.

When you fail, you learn from the mistakes you made and it motivates you to work even harder.

-Natalie Gulbis-

Of course it was really hard at the beginning, I almost give up everything. But then I told myself, “I already gone through this journey half way, why do I stop now? Let’s continue and finish it! Leave the past in the past.” I also printed out some motivational quotes and pasted it all over my room so that I can read it everyday. That’s how I motivates myself to keep moving forward until final year.

After the hard work, I just have faith in God. I always pray for ease in every obstacle that I face. God do listen to my prayers and He keep sending me all those super heroes in my hard times; until I successfully done my undergraduate degree and graduated on time. Alhamdulillah – Praise the Lord.

“if you have faith and do not doubt, not only will you do what was done to the fig tree, but even if you say to this mountain, ‘Be lifted up and thrown into the sea,’ it will happen.

Matthew 21:21

Thank you for those who helped me throughout my study, may God bless you and your family today and always. Amen.

Some said that getting yourself a high CGPA does not guarantee you a stable job in future. Yes, your study achievement and job/ career are two different things. Someone who do well in their study might not do well in their job.

But what’s the point of study hard from primary school until foundation level (in order to get into university) but you don’t have any achievement you can proud of? You will just wasting your time as it is quite easy to score well in university level. Just that you have to be a little bit hardworking regardless any course that you take. Set the highest goal and go for it, make it happen as you will only take your undergraduate degree once in your lifetime.

The most important key to success is NEVER GIVE UP.

Everyone can do it.

I, can do it.

YOU, can do it!

 

-Ryn-

Leave a Reply

